AUTHOR

OTS

DATE

March 23, 2022

CATEGORIES
SHARE

Looking for something?

  • Category

Get the Latest News!

Chemical and Nanotechnology-based Approaches to Build Next-gen Oligonucleotide Therapeutics

Join Aurélie Lacroix, PhD and Leonora Abdullahu, PhD, the 2021/2022 OTS Trainee Reps, as they share about their research and career paths.

Speaker: Aurélie Lacroix, PhD, Senior Scientist / MSCA fellow, Sixfold Bioscience

Presentation Title: Harnessing the power of Nucleic Acid Nanotechnology to Improve Oligonucleotide Therapeutics Delivery

Date: March 24, 2022

Time: 8am Los Angeles/ 11am Boston/ 4pm London/ 5pm Berlin/ 12 midnight Tokyo

What is your research about?

During the webinar, I’ll discuss how we can use NA nanotechnology as a tool to promote extra-hepatic delivery, enhance cellular uptake and cell-specificity. I’ll also discuss my journey moving from academia to a start-up, while playing with nucleic acid structures.

What topics will you cover during the webinar?

  • Introduction of NA nanotechnology (challenges, opportunities, and research during my PhD)
  • Moving from academia to a start-up
  • Using NA nanotechnology to improve NA delivery

Speaker: Dr. Leonora Abdullahu, Advisor Eli Lilly and Company

Presentation Title: The synthesis of 2’-modified RNAs for probing enzymes implicated in splicing and gene editing.

Date: March 24, 2022

Time: 8am Los Angeles/ 11am Boston/ 4pm London/ 5pm Berlin/ 12 midnight Tokyo

What is your research about?

My PhD work focused on the chemical synthesis of modified nucleic acids and their subsequent incorporation into oligonucleotides for therapeutic applications.

What topics will you cover during the webinar?

  • The important role of chemical modifications on advancing the therapeutic landscape of oligonucleotide drugs.
  • The importance of networking and improving your online presence when making the transition from academia to industry (job searching).